Alfred P. Sloan Foundation


Manhattan Theatre Club


The Foundation's partnership with the Manhattan Theatre Club (MTC) has helped to develop new plays about science and technology and to nurture playwrights with an interest in these subjects. Beginning with its collaboration in MTC's 2000 production of David Auburn's Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning drama, Proof, the Foundation has expanded its partnership with MTC to include multiple annual commissions for emerging, mid-level and established writers as well as a production grant to stage Alfred P. Sloan-related works. In addition to Proof, the Foundation supported MTC's production of Charlotte Jones's Humble Boy in 2003 and has commissioned a total of 22 writers, including Craig Lucas, Shelagh Stephenson, Ron Hutchinson, Rona Munro, Itamar Moses, Bryony Lavery, Steve Belber, Eric Simonson, Dava Sobel, Liz Mierwether, Peter Morris, Kenneth Lin and Bret Neveu.

Program Director:
Doron Weber Bio