Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Obama Honors 10 Sloan Research Fellows for Exceptional Achievement

On Friday, November 5th, President Obama named 85 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.  Among the scientists honored were ten Sloan Research Fellows

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach. Winning scientists and engineers have received research grants for up to five years to further their studies in support of critical government missions.

A list of Sloan Research Fellows included among this year's winners appears below.

FellowDisciplineSRF Year
Scott J. Aaronson Computer Science 2009
Amy N. Finkelstein Economics 2007
Andrew A. Houck Physics 2009
Manolis Kellis Computational & Evolutionary Molecular Biology 2008
Joshua W. Shaevitz Physics 2008
Doris Y. Tsao Neuroscience 2009
Jacob G. Wacker Physics 2010
Haoxing Xu Neuroscience 2009
Martin T. Zanni Chemistry 2006
Martin W. Zwierlein Physics 2008


The Foundation congratulates all 85 of this year's winners of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers.